The Kindness Challenge – Week 1 – Reflection

kindness1

Is there still kindness to find in this tired old world? There is as long as we are willing to extend it through our thoughts, words and actions. Kindness is not universal, or guaranteed, but it is easy enough to generate, we only have to open our mind and hearts to the possibility

That alone is a great reason to enlist in Niki’s 2017 Kindness Challenge. No matter how much kindness you think emanates from you and the way you live your life you can always squeeze out a little bit more. As I shared with Niki in an earlier comment I do not consider kindness the kinds of things we should do as a matter of politeness or appreciation. Kindness to me is about going another step or more, or taking the time to be deliberate toward another soul.

I admit I struggled with the Week 1 challenge. I don’t focus on myself very often. Not to say I am not kind to myself, I just don’t make it a conscious thing. But I see the wisdom in girding yourself up with a kindness focus so you are ready to give to others. So I took on Niki’s  Week 1 instructions and here I am with my first Reflections post.

As far as a mantra or affirmation I suppose I would think something like this “I am me, the person God made in a perfect form and He Loves me, so do I!” I do not struggle with accepting myself as much as I once did. I suppose that is as much maturity and deepening of my faith as anything else. I used to think my path in life was not ambitious enough. That was before I came to the realization that where I am is where God chose to place me.

I suppose the greatest kindness I have given to myself is to understand that truth. I no longer feel like a disappointment or that what I have done in my life does not measure up. We do ourselves and our children a disservice by setting out arbitrary milestones to meet to be considered successful. Each of us is unique and no pre-conceived benchmarks will fairly assess our lives.

Being the best “me” I can be is something I want, but not at the cost of failing to enjoy my days. My brother died unexpectedly at 29 with colo-rectal cancer. Since that moment 20+ years ago I have come to appreciate every day and certainly every birthday (see no regret for turning 50) as I know it is a gift.

This is my Week 1 reflection. I will be around to read others.

4 thoughts on “The Kindness Challenge – Week 1 – Reflection

  1. I’m so glad you gave this week your best attempt especially since you shared that was a struggle for you in your reflection post. I’m so happy to hear that you’ve been able to become comfortable with yourself over the years. I look forward to seeing what else comes out of this journey for you. Thanks for sharing ❤

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

