Oversight – God sees, but you control

There are many reasons identified as to why people will not trust in God to give them life-saving salvation. The promise of eternal life seems pretty sweet to me, but I have been a Christian for more than three decades, so my belief in the concept has been solidified by many hours of learning from men of God teaching from the Holy Bible. Also, I benefit from the experience of seeing God’s movement in my life as I keep his truths as my guide.

Perhaps the most halting thought for those stopping at the deciding line for trust in Jesus is the concept of oversight. It may be  due to the knowledge that God is omniscient, meaning he sees everything: past, present and future.

O lord, thou hast searched me, and known me.

Thou knowest my downsitting and mine uprising, thou understandest my thought afar off.

Thou compassest my path and my lying down, and art acquainted with all my ways.

Psalm 139 1-3 King James Version (KJV)

We live in a culture where more is known about us than ever before. Credit cards, online shopping, store loyalty cards, surveys and any number of other subtle devices are used to track any and every aspect of our lives. Yet people will hesitate on what I consider the most important decision of their life because they don’t like the thought that Jesus will see what they are doing or thinking.

I have lived with his knowledge for a long time and I find it very comforting. Why? Is it because I know He will keep me from doing something I shouldn’t? No. It is not like that. God blessed/cursed us with free will. We are blessed because we get to make our own choices. But we are cursed in the same way. God lets us decide what we want to do. But if you choose God to guide your life you should also want to do the kind of things that please Him.

I like the fact that God has oversight. I know he will gently tap my conscience when I am doing or thinking about doing something inconsistent with my faith. Then the burden is on me to make an effort to either step away from the thought or situation. He has oversight, but we still maintain control. It is when people understand that his offer seems more palatable I guess.

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/oversight/

Leave a Reply

