To What Do You Cling?

via Daily Prompt: Cling Cling is a physical verb. An action verb, if you like. It is something we do when we need to be sure we have security.

I choose to cling to a promise. More succinctly God’s promise.

John 3:16 King James Version (KJV)

16 For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life.

There is so many less solid things on which the people of Earth choose to cling. Drugs, alcohol, money, people, possessions and more are just a few of these. But none of them promises or delivers like God’s word. When you trust on the Son of God you can know beyond any doubt you will reap the reward you seek. What a reward it is, living forever in heaven with God.

I have been enjoying the peace of this belief for over three decades wondering how in the world those without deal with the craziness of the mortal world. With all the violence, poverty, death, destruction and day to day worries of life it would be mentally draining without the aid of my faith.

I wonder how others reconcile their rejection of this idea. Perhaps it is easier to ignore reality when you don’t feel you have to face it. I was saved for fifteen years before I faced the loss of my only brother. Three years later I lost my father and eleven years after that my mother passed away. The peace I felt in all three situations was so incredible. Yes, losing family members was tough, but I knew they were blessed to be with God in heaven, so how could I be 100% sad?

What do you cling to in times of trouble? If you do not know about God’s promises find someone you trust to share them with you.

 

 

Leave a Reply

